My Shepherd

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.”

Most everyone is familiar with Psalm 23. Whether at a funeral or in Sunday school every year of your life, at some point you’ve probably heard David’s famous prayer/poem.

It’s all about God taking care of us – as a shepherd with his sheep – providing for us and staying by our sides.

Not just in the good times. Not just when things are falling in place. When you or your spouse gets a promotion, when that long awaited baby is finally in your arms. Not just when you feel like you’re finally where you’re supposed to be or that God is answering all of your prayers.

But also in the broken times. When the burden is too heavy and your feet are too tired. When your marriage is falling apart, when a loved-one passes away. When it feels like you’re all alone and no one cares. When everything in your life is demanding all that you have and you feel, as Bilbo Baggins would say, like butter scraped over too much bread.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff they comfort me. You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies: You anoint my head with oil; my cup runs over.” (Psalms 23:4-5)

David understood that tough times are inevitable. He knew – first hand – that a life surrendered to God does not equal a life free of pain, struggle, or even enemies. We were never promised that; in John 16:33 Jesus told His followers, “These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (italics mine)

We live in a fallen and broken world. We’re surrounded by hurt people who hurt people. And we will face hard times. We will ride the struggle bus. But we won’t ride it alone. We won’t face those hard times by ourselves. Because we have the sure and true promises of God. That He will never leave us or forsake us. That He has already overcome the world and thereby given us the victory. That God is Jehovah Jireh, God my provider.

David went through his share of struggles and trials – his own son tried to kill him, for crying out loud. But he had a relationship with God and he knew, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that God was with him. That God led him and provided for him. He was so sure that even in the midst of his pain he could say his cup was running over.

And that’s the beauty of the gospel, of the love and the promises of God. That in Him we can have peace and joy. That when fear beckons and trials taunt His rod and staff comfort.

So when I’m anxious or restless I have to remind myself that God is with me. I have to remind myself of the final verse of Psalm 23: “Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life.” I might be walking through the valley of the shadow of death, I might be overwhelmed. But right here, now in this moment, God, in all His goodness and mercy and love, is right here with me.

And though I grow tired and sometimes choosing to do the right thing mostly just feels like banging my head against the wall, my God never grows tired. Nothing overwhelms or surprises Him. His goodness and mercy follows me all the days of my life.

“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, neither faints nor is weary. His understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the weak, and to those who have no might He increases strength. Even the youths shall faint and be weary, and the young men shall utterly fall, but those who wait on the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.” Isaiah 40:28-31

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “My Shepherd
  1. Arlene says:

    God Bless you sweetheart! Arlene

Leave a comment