It’s Not What(It’s How)

I’m a nanny. Every day I chase after a rambunctious three year old and a lively one year old trying to keep up. I am storyteller, boo-boo kisser, maker of lunch and bringer of sippies. I am pusher of swings, painter of trucks and lawn mowers, wrestler, and walker for unsteady feet.

Most people do not seem impressed when I answer “what are you doing since college” with “I’m a nanny.” Some ask for how long, as if this is just a placeholder, something I’m doing until I get a “real job”. Some ask what I really want to be doing, as if I’m unaware there is an entire world outside of the house and have naively settled for something less. Some ask why, as if I’m completely wasting my degree – and therefore, somehow, my life.

(Quick side note, I know plenty of people with a degree and no common sense, and even more brilliant people with no college diploma. It seems to me that, while pursuing higher education is a great way to better oneself, there is knowledge to be found outside of the classroom and, therefore, a diploma in itself does not make a person better than the plumber or electrician without one.)

I’ve always wanted to do something great with my life. Something that made a difference. Something that mattered. Something people would remember, admire.

And I always thought that meant I had to do something big. Something crazy and brave that few would dare try. Something that would make me famous, or at least not invisible in a crowd.

But I’m just a nanny. That’s small. That’s less. That’s nothing to brag about at family gatherings. That’s not going to change the world.

I took a Pinterest break during nap time today. (Yes, I’m publicly admitting that I have finally given in and started pinning. And pretending “pinteresting” is an adjective.) And there among a ridiculous number of quotes about who even knows what, one stuck out to me. “Do small things with great love.”

And it hit me; it’s not what we do that makes us great. It’s how we do. It’s not income, titles, or bragging rights, it’s effort, love, passion, and putting in a good hard day’s work regardless of how we feel. In other words: it’s not what we do, but who we are.

It doesn’t matter how small the task, how insignificant the job. When you approach it with love, when you give it your best, you are doing something great.

Which means I’m not “just a nanny”. After all, children only get one childhood. Here I am with the privilege (and responsibility) to make these children’s one childhood the best possible. Which means regardless of outside opinions – whether I’m using or wasting my degree, whether or not I have a real job, etc. – every day is an opportunity for me to do something great.

An opportunity to do lots of small things – changing diapers, dancing like a fool, giving baths, building block towers, cleaning messes, reading books, singing nursery rhymes – with great love.

Because at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter how much I have. It doesn’t matter how many people know my name or if strangers recognize me on the street. It doesn’t matter if your diploma has a higher average or a more esteemed name than mine. None of it matters, if I don’t have love.

Which, contrary to chick flicks and every Disney movie ever (with Frozen being the possible exception), includes giving love. Because love isn’t just something you receive. It’s not just a feeling. It’s an action. It’s a choice you make every day.

Love is crazy and brave. Love is something that not everyone dares to try. And loving others, regardless of who they are or how much it puts you out, is different. Choosing to do ordinary deeds with great love, is different. Giving when it’s easier to take, serving with gladness when it’s easier to sit back and be served, will make you stand out in a crowd.

If you want to change the world, start doing the small everyday things with great love.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “It’s Not What(It’s How)
  1. Arlene LaLonde says:

    Simply beautiful. I wish I would of had the Holy Spirit when I was raising my children. His face is shining down on you Colleen Jennings! Love you

Leave a comment