Are We There Yet?

I think I speak for everyone when I ask: is winter over yet?

Even those of us who love this season are getting sick and tired of the constant snow storms messing up plans and the bitter temperatures keeping us cooped up inside.

But this winter has taught, or at least reminded me of, two important lessons.

The first one should be obvious, but needs to be said anyway: complaining about the weather does not change the weather. You are not God, nor are you Queen Elsa. Your bitter groaning will not thaw the feet of snow around you and it won’t stop another storm from coming. Let it go. (Cliché, I know, but it had to be done.) Adults in winter are the equivalent of the child on a long road trip; no matter how many times he/she whines “are we there yet?” the trip home does not end until the car pulls into the driveway and the constant nagging only seems to prolong the trip and make everyone in the car miserable.

Which leads to the real lesson: constant complaining about things we cannot change does make a difference. It negatively effects our attitudes and the attitudes of those around us. It takes an already bad or difficult thing and makes it worse. It is nearly impossible to see the good, to be grateful for the beautiful, when we’re surrounded by and filled with negativity. When I am focused on how much I hate this cold, I’m more likely to miss the way the sun dances off the snow. When I tell every single person I see how miserable my life is because winter, I’m more likely to ruin someone’s (or lots of someone’s) day.

And the negativity feeds off of itself and grows. It starts with the cold and the snow, and then the traffic and the rising gas prices, and then there’s your co-workers, etc. Before you know it, everything is terrible and everything is miserable and winter is the worst because it ruins everything and this is a run-on sentence because I’m just so fed up with how awful everything in life is because it’s too cold for three months of the year.

Please understand I am not saying you must love winter or you will be miserable. All I know is that winter – especially in the north east – is a long hard season. If you wake up every morning and scowl at the snow out your window, winter is going to be an even longer and harder season. Try being grateful for something instead and watch what happens.

The second lesson I’ve been reminded of this winter came when someone, deep in the midst of a winter-hating rant, told me that snow is a result of the fall of man.

I just cannot agree with that.

Perhaps winter is a part of the fall. The way the ground gets hard, the temperatures bitterly cold, making it impossible to plant or harvest a crop. The way leaves fall, everything dies and the earth is left barren.

But if winter is the result of sin – if it’s nature’s metaphor for what sin does in our lives – then snow is the result of God’s grace. It’s the beautiful picture of the love and mercy of God covering our sins. It’s the reminder that no matter how broken and hopeless, no matter how lifeless my sin has left me, the sacrificial love of Jesus has made a way. Snow blankets the cold hard ground, clothes the trees’ naked branches, and covers the ugly and disheartening with radiant beauty.

Such is love. Such is grace. Such is God.

“Come now, and let us reason together, saith the LORD: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.” (Isaiah 1:18)

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Are We There Yet?
  1. Arlene says:

    Great writing Colleen! Being self absorbed is such a stare. Whether it is the weather of being sick.I didn’t feel good for a few weeks and boy looking back it is such a pity party.That is just what the enemy wants! If he can keep you focused on yourself how can you be doing the Fathers work! Boy, it made me so mad! You just lose the Joy that others need. I guess that is a little side tracked but ends the same. Love you and can’t wait to see you Saturday. Arlene

    • Colleen Jennings says:

      Exactly, Arlene! What you focus on makes all the difference in the world. I like that you said the joy that everyone needs. It’s not just about us as individuals, but how we impact the world around us. I’m excited to see you too!

Leave a comment